Advertise on DISCO4.COM
Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO4.COM > In Car Electronics (D4)

D4 Infotainment gremlins - Help!!!
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
sarahhowen01
 


Member Since: 16 Aug 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 59

United Kingdom 2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4
D4 Infotainment gremlins - Help!!!

So Boris, the 2011 D4 appears to have developed a few gremlins in the infotainment system.......

On Sunday morning the whole Infotainment system has a black screen showing the LR logo, stereo, handsfree and reversing cameras didn't work for 2 journeys and then seemed to reset themselves and worked again......(Typically when the other half went to "Fix" it for me!)

Now tonight the infotainment systems seems to be cutting out and reconnecting persistently, the radio goes dead for a few seconds and then joins back in (Also happens when streaming music via the AUX input so know its not the radio feed) also the handsfree is disconnecting and reconnecting at the same time and annoyingly it is happening probably every minute!!

Does this sound like a normal D4 "Issue" and what's the best way to resolve??

Thanks in advance............
  
Post #20672219th Jul 2019 7:13 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
grzesiul
 


Member Since: 11 May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 5526

United Kingdom 2016 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 SE Auto Loire BlueDiscovery 4

What you can do before scanning the car is hard reset

Unless there is someone close by with diagnostics like IIDTool or similar to check whether car comes up with any DTC codes from any ECU

and take it from there, might be also loose loom or something silly

Greg
  
Post #20672269th Jul 2019 7:18 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
sarahhowen01
 


Member Since: 16 Aug 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 59

United Kingdom 2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4

Great, thanks for the speedy reply..........................

How do you do a hard reset???
  
Post #20672279th Jul 2019 7:20 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Famousfive
 


Member Since: 12 Aug 2014
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1303

United Kingdom 2013 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 GS Auto Loire BlueDiscovery 4

https://disco4.com/wiki/Hard_Reset Thumbs Up
 Discovery 4 Loire Blue
Gone but not forgotten Discovery 4 Bali Blue 
 
Post #20672479th Jul 2019 8:46 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
M3bobby
 


Member Since: 21 May 2018
Location: Sleaford, LINCS.
Posts: 401

United Kingdom 

This could be a short or open circuit. Can you get the DTCs read?
  
Post #206735810th Jul 2019 9:23 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
sarahhowen01
 


Member Since: 16 Aug 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 59

United Kingdom 2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4

Thanks for your help so far guys, I'm taking Boris to a local mechanic shortly to plug it in and see if it registers any fault codes and taking it from their, I'll also ask him to do a hard reset if the diagnostics doesn't throw anything up............

From speaking to a couple of local independents they all seem to think its the unit that's failing and its big bucks to replace - does that sound feasible?
  
Post #206840015th Jul 2019 9:48 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Famousfive
 


Member Since: 12 Aug 2014
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1303

United Kingdom 2013 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 GS Auto Loire BlueDiscovery 4

not big bucks no.

Just find out what is wrong first and try update this thread before committing to any work.

For example if its the amp then ebay has plenty of options from around the £100 mark and it should be a straight forward swap Thumbs Up
 Discovery 4 Loire Blue
Gone but not forgotten Discovery 4 Bali Blue 
 
Post #206840115th Jul 2019 9:52 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
sarahhowen01
 


Member Since: 16 Aug 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 59

United Kingdom 2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4

Great, that's reassuring Smile

I'll update after the mechanic has looked at it Smile
  
Post #206840215th Jul 2019 9:56 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
sarahhowen01
 


Member Since: 16 Aug 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 59

United Kingdom 2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4

So, we plugged it in and the control Module brought up the following fault codes:

B11A4- 11 INTERMITTENT L-BAND ANTENNA

B11A4- 15 INTERMITTENT L-BAND ANTENNA

B11A5-11 INTERMITTENT BAND 3 ANTENNA

B11A5- 15 INTERMITTENT BAND 3 ANTENNA

U3000- 04 PERMANENT CONTROL MODULE

U3000- 4A INTERMITTENT CONTROL MODULE

U3000-55 PERM CONTROL MODULE

U3000- 87 PERM CONTROL MODULE

U3000- 98 INTERMITTENT CONTROL MODULE

So, im guessing this doesn't bode well, he couldn't do the hard reset today as he was working on other cars and fitting me in as a favour, he has said he will come round later and do it if needs be...................

So, thoughts?
  
Post #206841615th Jul 2019 11:09 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
M3bobby
 


Member Since: 21 May 2018
Location: Sleaford, LINCS.
Posts: 401

United Kingdom 

It’s the permanent ones that will be the key. A U code will be a lost coms on the Data Bus I think. So could be IAM is kaput or the Data Bus has a short or open line.

Can you wait till this evening and I’ll look in the reference library for those DTCs.
  
Post #206842015th Jul 2019 12:31 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
M3bobby
 


Member Since: 21 May 2018
Location: Sleaford, LINCS.
Posts: 401

United Kingdom 

U0300-55 (68 ) Internal control module software incompatibility - System programming failure - is not configured

The others relate to DAB and DAB antennas so it may be worth taking the rear right boot panel out and checking for damp/corrosion. Has anyone been in that area recently? You could also check the DAB connection in fact as you’re in there you could check DAB, AMP and RSE if you have it.
  
Post #206842715th Jul 2019 1:00 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
sarahhowen01
 


Member Since: 16 Aug 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 59

United Kingdom 2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4

DAB has never worked on the car which I assumed to be more an age related issue.............

No one has been in the boot area to my knowledge, the only recent work it has had done is the rear cam shaft seal and alternator and also the passanger door mirror motor unit had to be replaced, the fault started soon after that work was completed which one Independant garage thought could be part of the issue (He had a theory that it was a wiring issue as had 2 other similar age cars with a similar issue)

M3bobby is this looking like a control unit failure? if you could check the codes for me later that would be appreciated Smile
  
Post #206843415th Jul 2019 1:42 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
grzesiul
 


Member Since: 11 May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 5526

United Kingdom 2016 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 SE Auto Loire BlueDiscovery 4

you got relevant to your car workshop manual here listing all those message codes
https://onedrive.live.com/?authkey=!APKCJw...mp;o=OneUp
Greg
  
Post #206845415th Jul 2019 2:44 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
M3bobby
 


Member Since: 21 May 2018
Location: Sleaford, LINCS.
Posts: 401

United Kingdom 

Non of the work carried out should affect the infotainment system and most of the DTCs relate to the DAB, however I have heard of the alternator effecting the infotainment before. I’ll check the other DTCs tonight.

Does it work ok with engine off and car inn acc mode? It should run for a good 5 to 7 minutes before going into standby.
  
Post #206845715th Jul 2019 2:58 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
sarahhowen01
 


Member Since: 16 Aug 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 59

United Kingdom 2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Lux Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4

The alternator was replaced earlier this year (same time as having the Cam Seal done and both belts) but I guess its been a good 4/5 months after that this fault has occurred........ Confused

So, when you say acc mode? what does that mean??

Sorry to ask SO many questions but I don't have the first idea when it comes to cars!!!
  
Post #206846715th Jul 2019 3:52 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Display posts from the last:  
Post Reply Back to top
Page 1 of 2 12>
Jump to:  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >


Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



DISCO4.COM Copyright © 2004-2019 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis
DISCO3.CO.UK RSS Feed - All Forums

DISCO4.COM is independent and not affiliated to Land Rover.
Switch to Mobile Site