Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO4.COM > General

D4 Oil level-thoughts idea
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
les-goose

United Kingdom 2010 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 XS Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4
D4 Oil level-thoughts idea

Thinking aloud, with D4 electronic dip stick and D3 manual. Does the D4 oil drain tube fit in same place as D3 dip stick tube. Presume this has been thought of yes convert D4 tube to D3 dip stick. If for some reason this is a no go is it possible to adapt a dip stick to fit in Oil drain tube of D4. Even if it was to just use for to check oil level then removed for the next time you needed to check it.

Post #203557610th Mar 2019 11:27 am
Fireburst

England 2012 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto Orkney GreyDiscovery 4

Hi

I have a Renault Master camper van, every time I go to start the engine a message comes up on the dash saying "Engine oil level OK" it may be worth doing some research to see how its done on the Renault engine. Thumbs Up

Post #203558510th Mar 2019 11:53 am
adam

United Kingdom 
Re: D4 Oil level-thoughts idea

les-goose wrote:
Thinking aloud, with D4 electronic dip stick and D3 manual. Does the D4 oil drain tube fit in same place as D3 dip stick tube. Presume this has been thought of yes convert D4 tube to D3 dip stick. If for some reason this is a no go is it possible to adapt a dip stick to fit in Oil drain tube of D4. Even if it was to just use for to check oil level then removed for the next time you needed to check it.

Why? - D3 dipstick is crap - never had an issue with D4 oil checking
 Now Golf GTI PP, 7 speed DSG.
Ex D3 and D4 

Post #203559210th Mar 2019 12:08 pm
Pete K

England 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Rimini RedDiscovery 3

Yeah Renault have for years have oil LEVEL gauges or level checks more recently. Thumbs Up

Shame about their cars

Post #203559510th Mar 2019 12:18 pm
trev 1

England 2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto Siberian SilverDiscovery 4