Japan Specific D3?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
ostland

United Kingdom 2006 Discovery 3 4.0 V6 Petrol SE Auto Java BlackDiscovery 3
Japan Specific D3?

Hello all,

It's my first post !

I bought a D3 in Japan which seems to come with a different VIN from those in the other parts of the World. Elsewhere in this forum I remember reading that D3 is sold universally based on one base configuration (bells and whistles aside).

I understand that VIN for D3/LR3 begins with

SALLAAA436....

Well, mine has

SALLAJA436... J denoting Japan I suppose

I am no expert on VINs, or cars for that matter, but I presume there must be a significant enough structural difference to give it a different VIN, but can't work out what. Comparing with D3s in the UK, mine does look as if though the height is marginally lower. But this may just be a reflection of my psychological complex (having short pair of legs, that is!).

Unfortunately, the dealer couldn't give me a convincing answer on this one. So, if anyone knows why a different VIN is given to D3s in the Japanese market, please enlighten me!

Thanks in advance,

Post #40320116th Jan 2009 7:29 am
Goswin

Netherlands 2005 LR3 4.0 V6 Petrol SE Auto Bonatti GreyLR3

Fill out your VIN at http://www.landroverwinkel.nl/VIN
and perhaps it gives you the info you need.

Regards,
Goswin

Post #40447618th Jan 2009 3:07 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
CFB

United Kingdom 

More importantly welcome to the forum Thumbs Up

Maybe rustproofing etc is lower grade then Europe spec? I know there is a thriving market in the UK for ex Japanese Disco 1's being brought back over here with no corrosion on them as you don't get salt on the roads in winter etc.
 2020 BMW X1 18d XDrive X-Line Auto  
Post #40448218th Jan 2009 4:16 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
Goswin

Netherlands 2005 LR3 4.0 V6 Petrol SE Auto Bonatti GreyLR3