DISCO4.COM > General (D4)

should i buy another
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
lindencahill

2008 Discovery 3 TDV6 XS Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3
should i buy another

hi
im deeply missing my d4 sdv6 and considering buying another.
the car i would like is 74k and fsh but im absolutely bricking it about spending a huge amount of money on a beautifull car that could just let go of its crankshaft at anytime then costing a fortune to repair.
i know it my decision and a gamble ,i base my fears on owning a d3 that snapped crank,then i progressed to own three d4,s over a period of years and i can honestly say i never had a minutes issue with a single one of those cars,saying that the highest mileage one was 65k.
so should i be worried?
im a mechanic so treat my cars with upmost respect,oil change every 4000 miles and run on shell v-power but dont fancy pulling out an sdv6 engine.
have i just been lucky with my previous d4,s or should i walk away.
ive heard that oil pump should be replaced with cambelt change and there is a modified pump available to build up oil pressure quicker on cold starts hence prolonging engine life maybe.
should i go with my heart or with my brain,would be good to find out the percentage of d4,s with snapped cranks.
ive also seen forged cranks for these ,that could be a solution although like i said dont fancy pulling the engine out to fit one.
advice please before i press the buy it now button
as the sdv6 is in a state of higher tune is it worse than the tdv6
regards

Post #236973627th May 2024 10:10 am
Kilovolt

United Kingdom 2013 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 Commercial XS Auto Baltic BlueDiscovery 4

There is no real answer to this that would alleviate your fears Rolling Eyes

If you like the Disco 4 you like the Disco 4. I would not be without mine (Commercial, MY13, 146k miles). King of the road and as smooth as a magic carpet Very Happy