DISCO4.COM > Technical (D3)

Disco 3 question about e-diff
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Jean-Paul

Greece 2005 Discovery 3 4.4 V8 SE Auto Bonatti GreyDiscovery 3
Disco 3 question about e-diff

hello guys.

i am totally new in the land rover scheme. all i know is what i have seen in the oficial website.

what more can the e-diff provide one, ? what is its use ? and what does it do exactly. they dont mention it anywhere.

i am looking for a used 2005 SE V8 4.4 disco and i want to see what things it has on.
what are the difference between the SE and HSE as far as off-road capabilities is concerned?

also what are the must haves in a disco 3 as far as original equipment is concerned ? since i am getting the se version
 J.p  
Post #4777347th Jun 2009 9:51 pm
sarumlight

United Kingdom 2008 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Tonga GreenDiscovery 3

Hi Jean-Paul and welcome to the forum!

Hopefully others who know more than me will be along and give you better information, but I hope this helps:

Any 4-wheel drive vehicle has to have differentials to allow the wheels to turn independently when going around corners. Without some means of locking the differentials, all the engine's torque will go to the wheel with the least resistance, so if one wheel is in the air or on a slippery surface it will just spin with no traction.

All D3s have an electronically controlled centre differential which senses when the wheels are slipping alot (also guided by your selection on the terrain response dial) and locks the front and rear axles together. That stops one wheel from spinning away, but there are situations where that alone won't help (for example where the vehicle is "cross-axled" with one front and one rear wheel in the air, both would just spin).